Other Disability Laws


The source of this information is the U.S. Department of Justice, Civil Rights Division, Disability Rights section- booklet, A Guide to Disability Rights Laws, May 2002.

  1. Fair Housing Act
  2. The Air Carrier Access Act
  3. Voting Accessibility for the Elderly & Handicapped Act
  4. National Voter Registration Act
  5. Civil Rights of Institutionalized Persons Act
  6. Individuals with Disabilities Education Act
  7. The Rehabilitation Act
  8. The Architectural Barriers Act

The Fair Housing Act, as amended in 1988, prohibits housing discrimination on the basis of race, color, religion, sex, disability, familial status, and national origin. Its coverage includes private housing, housing that receives federal financial assistance and state and local government housing. For more information on the Fair Housing Act, please call, 1-202-708-2333 or 1-202-401-1247 TTY.