Due to registration for federal disaster assistance being extended until Monday, April 1, six disaster recovery centers previously announced as closing will remain open in New Jersey.


Federal Emergency Management Agency staff are available at nine centers to provide clarification

to letters, assist survivors with finding a temporary home if their primary residence was damaged

or destroyed, check on the status of their application for assistance or refer survivors to other agencies that may provide additional help. Survivors also can consult with Small Business Administration customer service representatives and FEMA mitigation specialists.


Center hours are 9 a.m. to 7 p.m., Monday through Friday and 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. on Saturdays. They are located at the following locations:


Atlantic County

Hamilton Mall

4403 Blackhorse Pike

Mays Landing, NJ 08330


Cape May County

Ocean City Community Center

1735 Simpson Ave.

Ocean City, NJ 08226


Hudson County

Hudson County Government Building

830 Bergen Ave.

Jersey City, NJ 07306

Monmouth County

Union Beach Municipal Building

650 Poole Ave.

Union Beach, NJ 07735






Henry Hudson Trail Activity Center

945 Highway 36

Leonardo, NJ 07737

Ocean County

Brick Township Civic Center

270 Chambers Bridge Road

Brick, NJ 08723


Bell Crest Plaza Store Front 4C

953 Fischer Blvd.

Toms River, NJ 08753


Ocean County Southern Resource Center

179 S. Main St.

Manahawkin, NJ 08050


Little Egg Harbor Senior Center

641 Radio Road

Little Egg Harbor, NJ 08087


Survivors also can visit SBA disaster loans outreach and business recovery centers to speak to SBA customer service representatives. Individuals can apply for SBA disaster home loans up to $200,000 to repair their homes and an additional $40,000 to help pay for things like furniture, clothes and vehicles that were damaged and not covered by insurance. Businesses and non-profit organizations may borrow up to $2 million.


Survivors must complete and return their disaster loan applications by April 1.


SBA center hours are 9 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday through Friday unless otherwise indicated. They are located at the following locations:


Atlantic County

Union Avenue School/Margate City Hall

9001 Winchester Ave.

Margate City, NJ 08402

*hours are 9 a.m. to 4 p.m., Monday through Friday

Cape May County

Cape May County Chamber of Commerce

13 Crest Haven Road

Cape May Courthouse, NJ 08210

*hours are 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., Monday through Friday






Essex County

Rutgers University

25 James St.

Newark, NJ 07102


Hudson County

New Jersey City University

285 West Side Avenue Suites 193

Jersey City, NJ 07305


Middlesex County

Sayreville Senior Center

423 Main St.

Sayreville, NJ 08872

*hours are 9 a.m. to 7 p.m., Monday through Friday and 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. Saturday


Monmouth County

Long Branch Fire Station No. 4

199-205 Union Ave.

Long Branch, NJ 07740

*hours are 9 a.m. to 7 p.m., Monday through Friday and 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. Saturday


Belmar Municipal Building

601 Main St.

Belmar, NJ 07719

*hours are 9 a.m. to 7 p.m., Monday through Friday and 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. Saturday


Brookdale Community College

Bankier Library

765 Newman Springs Road

Lincroft, NJ 07738


Ocean County

Southern Ocean County Chamber of Commerce

West Bay Ave.

Manahawkin, NJ 08050

*hours are 10 a.m. to 6 p.m., Monday through Saturday


Passaic County

Small Business Development Center

131 Ellison St.

Paterson, NJ 07505


Union County

Business One-Stop Service--The Incubator

320 Park Ave.

Plainfield, NJ 07060


Help and information from FEMA are always available online or by phone. Survivors can check on the status of their disaster assistance applications at DisasterAssistance.gov, by using a smartphone or tablet at m.FEMA.gov, or by calling 800-621-FEMA (3362), TTY 800-462-7585 or 711/VRS. They also can call those numbers to inquire about rental recertification.


Survivors can ask questions about their SBA disaster home or business loan applications by calling 800-659-2955 or TTY 800-877-8339 or emailing disastercustomerservice@sba.gov.


Survivors who have questions about flood insurance claims and the appeals process can call 888-379-9531.


Additional resources are available online at FEMA.gov/SandyNJ and SBA.gov/Sandy.





Mailing Address:
Post Office Box 728,
Toms River, New Jersey 08754-0728
Town Hall located at:
33 Washington Street
Toms River, New Jersey 08753